Home News  Gov. Lalong appoints 19 commissioners

 Gov. Lalong appoints 19 commissioners


Barely two weeks after he dissolved the state executive council, Gov. Simon Lalong of Plateau has sent 19 names to the House of Assembly for confirmation as commissioners.

Among those nominated is Mr Dan Majang, Special Adviser to the governor on media and publicity.

Others are Bulus Bot, Ezekiel Daju, Anna Izam, Sylvester Wallangko, Pam Bot-Mang, Hosea Finangwai and Usman Idi.

Also nominated are Dakur Eli, Victor Lapang, Elizabeth Wapmuk and Regina Somela.

Ahmed Nazif, Abdullahi Abbas, Dayyabu Garga, Tamakat Wali, David Wuyep, Festus Fuanter and Hitler Dadi, who were among those dropped, were re-nominated.

Gov. Lalong had earlier forwarded three nominees who were screened and cleared on Feb. 14.

Speaker Peter Azi, who read the names during plenary on Wednesday in Jos, said that the governor’s communication was in accordance with section 195 of the 1999 constitution as amended.

The lawmakers have agreed to screen the nominees on Feb. 27. NAN

Follow us on twitter @YBTCNEWS



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

%d bloggers like this: